How can you backup your data before selling your old phone?

Decided to upgrade to the latest Android phone and want to sell your current (also Android) phone, but not sure how to save your data? With these steps, we have drawn an outline that you can follow before selling your current smartphone So, check this out –

Backing up Contacts, Emails, Call Records, and Messages:

If you primarily use Google apps on your Android smartphone, transferring data from one Android device to another is simple. Your Google account, which you use to sign up for the device, has already backed up all of your contacts. Enter into Google Play Store to see the email address to which all your data is synchronized and backed up. Just click on the Sandwich menu on the top left side of the screen, and a sidebar will appear on the left, with your Email-ID displayed.

Backing Up Your Media:

If you want to save images and movies to an external or internal drive, the quickest and most effective technique is to connect your phone to the computer using a USB cable. When the connection is complete, it should appear as a USB drive on the PC. So, just copy everything on the USB drive and save it on your system. To achieve the same outcome on a Mac, users may need to install a little Google programme called Android file transfer and perform these tasks..

Encrypt your information:

Once you have backed up all your data, it’s time to delete everything from your smartphone. You will need to do more than a factory reset to ensure that all your data is erased. However, you must first encrypt your data. That means that anyone who wants to read your phone’s data will need your password to decrypt it. Encryption should be enabled on phones running Android 6.0 Marshmallow and higher. Go to Settings > Security > Encrypt phone to encrypt your data. You can also encrypt the SD card if you want to. Do this only if you intend to hand back the gadget together with the SD card.

Turn off the Factory Reset Protection:

Remove your Google accounts (all of them if you have more than one) from your phone to stop Factory Reset Protection. Select your account from Settings > Accounts & Sync > Google >. To open the menu, tap the three dots and select Remove account.

Creating a WhatsApp Backup:

Next, WhatsApp Messenger is the world’s most popular instant messaging application. We use it for all of our daily communication. Transferring all of your WhatsApp conversations might be difficult if done incorrectly, as once these conversations and media are lost, there is no way to retrieve them. Fortunately, all of your WhatsApp data can be stored on Google Drive. This Google Drive backup may be used to restore WhatsApp data onto the new device.

1. Open WhatsApp.

2. Select More options > Settings > Chats > Chat backup from the drop-down menu.

3. Select a backup frequency by tapping Back up to Google Drive.

4. Choose the Google account to which you’d like to save your chat history. If you don’t have a Google account, tap Add account and provide your login details when requested.

5. Select the network you wish to use for backups by tapping Back up over. Please be aware that backing up over a cellular data network may result in increased mobile data usage.

Cross-checking:

Finally, before performing a factory reset, you should remove all the accounts that you are currently logged into. To double-check, launch your Gmail app or go to Settings>Accounts and see whether any Google Accounts are active on the device. If you can’t find it, type Accounts in the settings page’s search field, and you will see if there’s a Google account logged in with all the options ticked. At the end of the page, you will find a “more” button; click it and then “Remove Account” to delete your account.

The End!

You have safely saved all the important data now. Now, the last step. Simply remove your MicroSD card, as well as all of your SIM cards, and wipe the device clean. Now go through your belongings and look for the smartphone box and any other accessories that came with it. Then you may hand over the gadget to any third party for a final check.