How to Remove Data Permanently Before You Sell Used Mobile Phones?

Your new phone must have been shiny, fast, functional and fun to use, but after a year or two of using it, you finally decided that it cannot take the load anymore. So, now you are on the verge of selling it or maybe lending it to someone in need. But before you do so, be very careful about permanently deleting all your data. Indeed, you would not want anyone to access your important passwords, banking details, photo ID information or other personal pictures that you have collected over the months. One can never be sure what information can be retrieved from used phones and how they might be used. So, to be safer than being sorry, here are a few methods that will help you permanently delete your old phone’s data before you switch over to a new one

How to Wipe the Data?

Wiping off all the previous data from mobiles and tablets is an easy process. You do not need any rocket science knowledge to be able to do so. Just follow a few simple steps given below and be assured of maintaining your privacy. 

  • First of all, tap the “Settings” button on your phone.
  • Then select “Advanced” under “Settings” and select the “Reset” option.
  • You will be presented with three choices. 

1. First is the “Reset Wi-Fi, Mobile & Bluetooth”, which is useful for repairing any issues with connectivity. 

2. “Reset App Preferences” will immediately restore all app and notification defaults, permissions and other such things. 

3. Finally, you will get the choice of “Erase All Data”, also known as “Factory Reset”. This is from where you can delete all your files, data, cache, settings and downloads. 

  • Once you tap the “Factory Reset” button, a warning message will pop up on the screen, reminding you that your data will be erased, along with all the accounts you’re currently signed in to. 
  • Nonetheless, select “Reset Phone” to permanently delete all the data. 
  • If you have a PIN or some other security setup, you will be required to enter it.
  • Another message will pop up on your screen saying, “Are You Sure?” 
  • Tap the “Erase Everything” option and delete everything from your phone to make it as good as new!

Added Security

In some cases, some devices may have an older android version which may ask the user to login even after resetting it. So, to avoid that make sure that you have turned off your screen lock (by going to Security > Screen Lock > “None”) and deleted your ( Google Pixel 6 pro Review )account (which you’ll find at Settings > Account > Google) before you start the resetting process. 

  • To turn off the screen lock, go to “Security” and select the “Screen Lock” under it.
  • You will be asked to enter your screen lock pattern or password to verify the user.
  • After verification, select “None”.

To delete your Google account,

  • Go to “Settings”.
  • Select “Accounts” and go to “Google”.
  • Deactivate your profile and then click the delete option to permanently delete your account from the device. 

Some data might get left behind even after resetting the phone. To avoid that,

  • Go to “Settings” and select “Security”, then click on “Advanced”.
  • Under “Advanced”, select the “Encryption & Credentials” option and select “Encrypt Phone”.
  • Again, go back to Settings and follow the steps mentioned above to initialise the reset process. 

You should keep in mind that if you have a Samsung phone, then there are chances that you may have a Samsung account. When you set out to reset your Samsung phone before passing it on to someone else or selling it, naturally, you will go through the factory reset process. But while doing that, you may be asked to enter your Samsung account password. So, keep track of that password, enter it correctly to deactivate your account and proceed with the data erasing process.

Final Words

Now that you have finally decided to get rid of your old phone and go in for a new and better smartphone, be careful about remembering the crucial step of erasing all previous data from the older phone. Also, instead of buying a new phone, invest in a pristine condition refurbished phone. Buy it from a reliable portal like mobigarage.com and save some money.